The Annual Stallybrass Prize in the History of Material Texts

Penn’s Workshop in the History of Material Texts has recently announced the inauguration of the Stallybrass Prize in the History of Material Texts. The prize honors Peter Stallybrass, Walter H. and Leonore C. Annenberg Professor Emeritus of English, who founded Penn’s Workshop in the History of Material Texts in 1993 and served on Penn Press’s Faculty Editorial Board from 1992 to 1995.

This annual prize will be awarded annually to the two best essays by students in any school at Penn—one by an undergraduate, one by a graduate student—on any aspect of how texts take material form and circulate in the world. The deadline for submission is April 15th. Essays will be judged by the directors of the Workshop and members of its Advisory Board, listed below.


Zachary Lesser, Edward W. Kane Professor of English
John Pollack, Curator, Research Services, Kislak Center
Jerome Singerman, Senior Humanities Editor, Penn Press

Advisory Board:
Shira Brisman, Assistant Professor, History of Art
Julie Nelson Davis, Professor, History of Art
Deven M. Patel, Associate Professor, South Asia Studies
Whitney Trettien, Assistant Professor, English

Penn Press’s Material Texts book series was founded by Stallybrass and over the years many of our authors have given presentations at the Workshop’s seminars. Current co-director Zachary Lesser has published two books with Penn Press in the Material Texts series, “Hamlet” After Q1 (hardcover 2014, paperback 2016) and Ghosts, Holes, Rips and Scrapes (due out in May 2021), and co-director John Pollack is the translator of Roger Chartier’s Won in Translation, forthcoming in 2022.

Forthcoming Events